Fact Sheet: Michigan State Acres for Wildlife

Download 475.95 Kb.
Size475.95 Kb.

Fact Sheet: Michigan State Acres for Wildlife

August 2009


Owners and operators of certain cropland in designated geographical areas may enroll eligible land in a new Continuous Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) conservation Practice titled State Acres For wildlife Enhancement (SAFE), also known as CP38.

The United States Department of Agriculture’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) in Michigan began SAFE sign-ups on July 1, 2007. Sign-ups continue on a continuous (ongoing) basis until acreage caps are reached. Through continuous CRP signup, USDA accepts year-round producer offers,

provided the land and producer meet certain eligibility requirements. Producers can offer land for enrollment in SAFE and other CRP programs at their local FSA service center. Producers within a SAFE area can submit offers to voluntarily enroll acres in CRP contracts for 10-15 years (the contract length depends on the SAFE proposal authorized for the area). In exchange, producers receive annual CRP rental payments, incentives and cost-share assistance to establish habitat-enhancing natural covers on eligible land. Producers enrolling in CRP enter into contracts with USDA’s Commodity Credit Corporation (CCC). FSA administers CRP on behalf of the CCC.

Michigan Diverse Grassland SAFE

The goal of SAFE is to create 7,500 acres of diverse grasslands in 18 southern Michigan counties (Barry, Branch, Calhoun, Clinton, Eaton, Genesee, Hillsdale, Ingham, Ionia, Jackson, Kalamazoo, Lapeer, Lenawee, Livingston, Monroe, Shiawassee, St. Joseph and Washtenaw)

These and other species will benefit from SAFE: bobolink, eastern box turtle, eastern hognosed snake, eastern wild turkey, grasshopper sparrow,

Henslow’s sparrow, Karner Blue butterfly, northern bobwhite quail and ringnecked pheasant.

Michigan Native Pollinators SAFE

The goal of the Michigan Native Pollinators SAFE is to enroll 2,500 acres of pollinator habitat in 22 counties in the western Lower Peninsula (Allegan, Antrim, Barry, Benzie, Berrien, Cass, Charlevoix, Emmet, Grand Traverse, Kalamazoo, Kalkaska, Kent, Lake, Leelanau, Manistee, Mason, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Ottawa, Van Buren, and Wexford). of practices over the next five years to benefit native pollinators. These practices will consist of grasslands which provide diverse sources of nectar and pollen along with bare soil patches for ground nesting pollinators. Bees, butterflies and moths are among the pollinators that will benefit. The focus area includes 22 Michigan counties along Lake Michigan.

More Information

For more information and updates about SAFE and other Farm Bill topics, please visit your local Conservation District – listed on the Michigan Association of Conservation Districts website at www.macd.org .

Program information is also available on the following websites:

Michigan NRCS website: www.mi.nrcs.usda.gov

Farm Service Agency website: www.fsa.usda.gov
Michigan’s 79 Conservation Districts are elected units of government authorized by state law. Most are organized along county boundaries. Each Conservation District is governed by a five member, locally elected board of directors who act as a locally controlled resource management agency. The District is the only entity in Michigan accountable to the landowners within its jurisdiction and responsible to provide services and implement programs that meet the needs of private landowners, the community, and its natural resources.

~ Your Land Your Water Your Michigan ~

Share with your friends:

The database is protected by copyright ©dentisty.org 2019
send message

    Main page