The Fess, this is a broad horizontal band crossing the shield in the centre

Download 3.37 Mb.
Size3.37 Mb.
  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   88
Above is an example of a shield but there are many divisions that one can be broken down into. The background of the shield is called a field, placed on these are

The Bend, this appears as a broad band from the chief corner to the sinister base.

The Pale, this is a broad perpendicular band passing from the top of the shield to the bottom.

The Fess, this is a broad horizontal band crossing the shield in the centre.

The Chevron, which is the same shape as the gable rafter.

The Pile, this is a triangular wedge issuing from the upper party of the shield.

The Saltire

The Chief, this is a broad band across the top of the shield containing the uppermost third of the area of the shield.

The Pall, is considered to have a heraldic status of an ecclesiastical charge upon the official coat of arms.

The Cross, There are nearly 400 varieties of this heraldic cross.

These have been retrieved from the web site ‘Heraldry and self-representation in the middle ages’ by the Central European University.

Colour was then added using the rule “metal on colour and colour on metal but not metal on metal or colour on colour” (Owl and Mouse educational software, Shields, knights and heraldry, 1998- 2004). These metals were:

1. Or ( gold – yellow)

2. Argent (silver – white)

When knights elect colours for their coat of arms they take into account that each colour is symbolic in representing who they are.

With the colours and their meanings are:

1. Gules (red) – warrior or martyr

2. Azure (blue) – truth and loyalty

3. Vert (green) – hope, joy and loyalty in love

4. Sable (black) – constancy or grief

5. Purpure (purple) – royal majesty, sovereignty and justice

6. Twang or Tenne (orange) – worthy ambition

7. Sanguine or Murray (maroon) – patient in battle and yet victorious

The above language is called blazoning, which is the heraldic terms used for coat of arms.

Charges are also on the shield and these are usually animals show on the base colour. These are animals of battle such as:

1. Lion: which represents courage, bravery and strength

2. Bear: representing strength, cunning, protection of ones kindred

3. Bore: bravery and fights to the death

4. Eagle: courage, noble nature, alertness and protection

5. Horse: readiness for all employment of the king and country

6. Dragon: protection and valiant defender of treasure

7. Griffin: valor, bravery, viligence and death-defying

Share with your friends:
  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   ...   88

The database is protected by copyright © 2019
send message

    Main page