[state] Part 6 — Approved Maintenance Organisation

Download 334.35 Kb.
Date conversion19.11.2016
Size334.35 Kb.
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11

IS Indoctrination, Initial, Recurrent, Specialised and Remedial Training.

Each AMO shall provide indoctrination training for employees that includes at least 40 hours of instruction in at least the following subjects:

      1. Regulations of [STATE] – particularly those associated with AMO maintenance functions and authority as reflected on the certificate and operations specifications.

      2. Company manuals, policies, procedures and practices, including quality control processes, particularly those associated with ensuring compliance with maintenance (including inspection), preventive maintenance, and alteration procedures established to show compliance with Part 6;

      3. Dangerous goods requirements of, including other local, [STATE], and national laws requiring training for different categories of employees.

      4. Human performance, including coordination with other maintenance personnel and flight crew.

      5. Maintenance human factors – the elements should focus on aviation maintenance and safety related issues.

      6. Computer systems and software – as applicable to the repair station’s maintenance (including inspection, preventive maintenance and alteration systems and procedures, and

      7. Facility security - which shall include company security objectives, specific security procedures, employee responsibilities, actions to take in the event of a security breach, and the organisational security structure.

Note. – Guidance material to design training programmes to develop knowledge and skills in human performance can be found in the Human Factors Training Manual (Doc 9683).

Initial training. Each AMO shall provide initial training for employees that includes at least 80 hours of instruction in at least the following subjects consistent with the specific employee position and assigned job activities:

      1. General review;

      2. Specific job or task training;

      3. Shop safety;

      4. Records and recordkeeping;

      5. Materials and parts;

      6. Test equipment, including ground support equipment;

      7. Tools;

      8. Maintenance human factors, and

      9. Any other items as required by the Authority.

Recurrent training. Each AMO shall provide recurrent training for employees that include at least 8 hours of instruction in the subjects below:

      1. Refresher of subjects covered in initial training

      2. New items introduced in the AMO since completion of initial training;

      3. Any other items required by the Authority.

Specialised training. Each AMO shall provide specialised training, including initial and recurrent, for employees whose duties require a specific skill. Examples of specialised skills include: flame and/or plasma spray operations, special inspection or test techniques, special machining operations, complex welding operations, aircraft inspection techniques or complex assembly operations.

Remedial training. Each AMO shall provide remedial training to rectify an employee’s demonstrated lack of knowledge or skill by providing information as soon as possible. In some instances, remedial training may consist of an appropriately knowledgeable person reviewing procedures with an employee through on-the-job training. Remedial training should be designed to fix an immediate knowledge or skill deficiency and may focus on one individual. Successful remedial training should show an individual what occurred, why it occurred, and in a positive manner, how to prevent it from occurring again.

Each AMO, in developing training for employees, shall take into account the various training, experience, and skill levels of its employees as follows:

      1. Employees that hold an AMT licence;

      2. Employees with experience performing similar tasks at another AMO;

      3. Employees with applicable military aviation maintenance experience; and

      4. Employees with no prior skills, experience, or knowledge.

Each AMO shall have procedures to determine the frequency of recurrent training and the need for specialised and remedial training.

Each AMO shall assess the competency of its employees for performing his or her assigned duties after completion of initial, recurrent, specialised and remedial training. This assessment of competency shall be appropriately documented in the employee’s training records and shall be done by any of the following methods, depending upon the size of the AMO, its capabilities and experience of its employees:

      1. Written test.

      2. Completion of a training course.

      3. Skill test.

      4. Group exercise.

      5. On the job assessment.

      6. Oral examination in the working environment.

ICAO Annex 6, Part I:;;;

FAA AC 145.163

IS: Dangerous Goods Training Programme

Dangerous goods training, at a minimum, shall include at least 8 hours instruction in at least the following:

      1. General awareness/familiarisation training —designed to provide familiarity with the requirements of this Part and the dangerous goods regulations in Part 9 and to enable the employee to recognise and identify dangerous goods.

      2. Function-specific training —concerning the specific requirements of this Part and the dangerous goods regulations in Part 9, or exemptions or special permits issued, relating to the specific functions the employee performs.

        1. Safety training concerning—

        2. Emergency response.

        3. Measures to protect the employee from the hazards associated with the dangerous goods to which they may be exposed in the workplace, including specific measures the employer has implemented to protect employees from exposure.

        4. Methods and procedures for avoiding accidents, such as the proper procedures for handling packages containing dangerous goods.

      3. Security; awareness training —addressing the security risks associated with dangerous goods transportation and methods designed to enhance transportation security. This training must also include a component covering how to recognise and respond to possible security threats.

      4. In-depth security training –—must include company security objectives, specific security procedures, employee responsibilities, actions to take in the event of a security breach, and the organisational security structure.

      5. Any other training required by the Authority.

ICAO Annex 18: Chapters 10 and 13

49 CFR: 172.704
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11

The database is protected by copyright ©dentisty.org 2016
send message

    Main page