Board of directors meeting minutes 2009/2010 season

Download 12.23 Kb.
Date conversion05.02.2017
Size12.23 Kb.

2009/2010 SEASON

The General Board of Directors of Amherst Youth Hockey, Inc. held its annual board meeting on

May 4, 2010 at Sean Patrick’s Restaurant. President David Silverberg convened the meeting at 6:30 PM noting that a quorum was not present and the general meeting would commence after dinner upon confirmation of a quorum.

David Silverberg, Robert Schell, Nancy Quigley, Sharon Brown, Keith Waldron, Gary Joseph, Jack Quigley, Rich MacLean, Michael Katz, Frank Lukomski, Butch Kreuz, Tom Tzetzo, Pete Morris, Brian Charlton, John Berger, Tom Esposito, John Centola, Dave Hayman, Steve Bengart, Christina Biondolillo, Chris Rehbaum, John Gaffney, Robert Schreck and Darren Palaszewski.


Mike Paulter, Rob Ketteman, Kris Quigliana, Steve Ferenczy, Tony Berrafato

7:10 PM

Secretary Schell notified President Silverberg that a quorum was present.

7:15 PM

President Silverberg commenced the general meeting with a moment of silence for those from the Amherst Youth Hockey family that were lost during the past year.

Secretary-Bob Schell had no report
Registrar- 2009-2010 season had 1500 + participants. Additionally 17 spring teams were registered for which the association is waiting on completed paperwork.
Treasurer-2009-2010 financials are not complete, but Nancy Quigley expects the association to finish in the black.
VP House-Keith Waldron reported that we had 53 teams registered with over 900 participants. These numbers are down from previous years. Additionally VP Waldron thanked all the house conveners and extended a special thanks to Jeff Hughes for coordinating the friendship tournament and to Scott Moser for coordinating Novice.

VP Travel-Gary Joseph reported the following:

Thank you to Bob Schell for coordinating the State and National Tournaments that AYH hosted.

Thank You to President Silverberg and Nancy Quigley for being a part of the coach selection process.

Thank You to Sharon for all her efforts in registration

Thank You to all the travel reps and Mike Paulter for his work with the girls program.

Thank You to Rich MacLean for all his scheduling efforts

Gary wished Peter Morris well and thanked him for his countless hours in the officials program

Thank You to Eric Guzdek , Brad Waltz and the entire facility staff.

Gary reported that the coaching survey had good results in the first year and expects the program will continue and improve.

Gary also reported on the following association accomplishments:

Chris Rehbaum’s Squirt Minor AAA team won its division and playoff in WNYAHL.

All girls travel teams participated in State Tournaments

Joe Spano’s Bantam Major AAA team was NYSAHA runner up

Joe Spano’s Bantam Major AAA team and Sean Green’s PeeWee Major AAA team participated in the USA Hockey National Championships.
Coach of the Year-Joe Spano
Association Elections-
VP House-Keith Waldron, unopposed

Treasurer-Nancy Quigley, unopposed

Registrar-Sharon Brown, Mari Anne Reed(nominated by petition)
Secretary Schell cast 1 ballot for Keith Waldron and Nancy Quigley. Association vote unanimous.
The general board then heard from both Secretary candidates, and upon completion secretary Schell collected the ballots.
Peter Schmitt House Coach of the Year Memorial Award presented by Maureen Schmitt-John Gaffney
Hall of Fame-
Hubert Jeras presented by Rob Eimer .
Bob Fleischmann -presented by Pat Pat Gormley 

8th Annual Heinz Maier Award-presented by son in law Tim Johnson
Michael Schreck
4th Annual John Cavagnaro Memorial Award-presented by Tom Tzetzo for the outstanding Midget Player.
Ben Katz
President Report-
President Silverberg thanked the executive Board and the Board of Directors for a job well done. Additionally he thanked all our coaches and managers as well as invited guests, Hall of Fame, Dave Smith, Maureen Schmitt and Peter Morris who is retiring from service to the association.

President Silverberg then outlined association highlights for 2009-2010.

-Dick’s Sporting Goods sponsorship

-Tim Hortons Timbits

-On Ice Coaching Clinics

-Girls program


-Feasibility Study

-Sponsored NYSAHA Annual Meeting

-Produced Commercial

-Purchased 10 sets of One Goal Equipment

-In Lobby sign

-Upgrade Website

-Coaching Surveys

-AV Equipment for player instruction

-Spring Hockey

-Novice Program for 3 year olds

-228 Coaches in Coach Clinic

-Hockey Weekend in America

-Top Gun

-Hosted 3 State Championships
President Silverberg then reminded coaches to participate in coaches skates.
Election Results-
VP House-Keith Waldron

Treasurer-Nancy Quigley

Registrar-Sharon Brown
Motion to Adjourn-9:15 pm
Motion by Schell second by Centola.
Motion Approved.

The database is protected by copyright © 2016
send message

    Main page